Sunday, 25 December 2011

Shahrukh Khan to Dawn: I will come to Pakistan

It may be recalled that SRK got into hot water with a right wing political party not so long ago because he’d suggested that Pakistani cricketers be allowed to play in the IPL. Thanks to King Khan’s sentiments, the party also disrupted the release of My Name Is Khan. Now the Badshah of Bollywood has given an interview to Pakistan’s premier newspaper Dawn where he’s said that he will visit our neighbour. He’s also advocated Pakistani artistes working in Bollywood
A true flag flier of Aman Ki Asha is our Khan. Here’s hoping that the right wing politicos don’t blow this up and disrupt the Don 2 release and instead take Khan’s comments in the spirit in which he meant them. Excerpts from the Dawn interview:

Keeping My Name is Khan and the relations between India and Pakistan in mind, do you think films need to absorb the socio-politics around us or influence them? What does good cinema do, in your opinion?

Art is always going to go beyond boundaries. Primarily, all a good film needs to do is entertain. Enjoyable cinema will always transcend boundaries and we are so similar as a people that we laugh at the same things and cry at the same things. But why restrict the Dawn question to India and Pakistan? I’m glad people liked Khan (My Name is Khan) all over the world for a very simple reason. I’m not claiming to know everything but I do know that as a Muslim it’s important for me to tell the world who we really are. It’s important for us to explain Islam to the world and it’s important for the world to know Islam and what it truly stands for. But that’s not the only reason I did the film. It was a good experience.

Indian films are now releasing in Pakistan so at least some boundaries are softening. What do you say about Pakistani artistes working in India?

We speak the same language. This exchange is very important because we have the same background and I hope it continues. Where films are concerned, it’s important to step out and explore new options. I have worked with a lot of singers from Pakistan and I’ve also worked with Akon for RA.One. I feel that new voices bring novelty as well as longevity.

You always had fans in Pakistan but your fanfare reached dizzy heights with MNIK. What are the odds that you’ll come to Pakistan?

One of these days, I will come to Pakistan. I will come to Pakistan when work takes me there.

Work, but not the love of the people?

I find work is an excuse for love. I find love in work.

And, since Cineswami loses no opportunity to coin a cheap pun, here goes:

‘Knock knock’

“Kaun Hai?”

“Dawn, dawn, er, don 2”.
Read More... Shahrukh Khan to Dawn: I will come to Pakistan

Wednesday, 14 December 2011

SRK's desperate to read books

Superstar Shah Rukh Khan is an avid reader, but amid the promotions of his last release, "RA.One" and upcoming film " Don 2: The King Is Back", he is missing the joy of catching up on books.

"Desperately seeking a good book to read. Kindle dried up...bookstores out of bounds...heading to Nagpur would have been nice if I had a book," Shah Rukh posted on Twitter.

The actor and his "Don 2" team are beginning their multi-city promotion tour for the film with Nagpur. He also recieved many suggestions for latest books, and asked his Nagpur fans to give him books during his stay.

"Thanks guys and girls keep the suggestions coming...need to immerse myself in books. Been a long time since I spent some time with myself. Enroute to Nagpur...the tour begins for the chase continues film. I really love meeting you all in the garb of film promotions. DON is ON...

"So if you are in Nagpur and have the time I would love it if you get me books...remember to write ur Twitter handle please on the book," added Shah Rukh.

Rishi uncle's songs have youth connect: Imran Khan

Actor Rishi Kapoor's songs and films are still loved by people of all age groups and that's because of their "spunk", says Imran Khan, the title of whose next film " Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu" is inspired by one of the veteran star's hit song.

"There is certain zing in the phrase 'Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu', which connects it instantly to the youth. Rishi uncle's songs are very lively and there is certain spunk in them. I think that's the reason why there is an instant youth connect," Imran said in a press statement.

"Not only his songs, but also his personality is youthful and full of verve even today," he added.

"Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu", a Karan Johar production, also features Kareena Kapoor. It is a romantic comedy, and will hit the screens around Valentine's Day next year.
Read More... SRK's desperate to read books

SRK at Legendary Dilip Kumar's Home to wish him Birthday!
Read More... SRK at Legendary Dilip Kumar's Home to wish him Birthday!

Shah Rukh's 800-page biography to weigh 37 kgs!

Mumbai: Weighing an incredible 37 kgs, running up to 800 pages and consisting of exclusive content including fascinating extracts from Shahrukh Khan's personal diary, "King Khan - The Official Opus of Shah Rukh Khan" is likely to be released next year.
"I am overwhelmed by the honour. Though there have been books written about me, but the magnificence of this book simply stands out. I am thankful to the group for choosing me. My opus will surely get me closer to my fans," Khan said signing the first copy of his official opus.
The Bollywood megastar joins the league of iconic names in the opus collection, including Sachin Tendulkar, Michael Jackson, Manchester United FC, Formula 1 and Ferrari.
He is the second Indian to have this luxury, large-format work dedicated to him.
Announced by Britain-based Opus Media Group, the Opus will narrate the journey of the star through rare pictures and extracts from his personal diary.
The opus will reveal the incredible passion, intellectual drive, constant ambition and charming personality of Khan.
The leather-bound publication will weigh an incredible 37 kg, running up to 800 pages and consisting of exclusive, newly-commissioned content that will make this work a must-have for every fan.
Shah Rukh
"On behalf of the entire Opus team, we are immensely honoured to be given such a wonderful opportunity to tell Khan's story in an opus. Khan continues to lead the way creatively and we hope to rise to the challenge in telling his story in a new, diverse and unprecedented style through the King Khan Opus," said Opus Media Group CEO Karl Fowler.
Said Eszter Karpati, editor of "King Khan - The Official Opus of Shah Rukh Khan": Eight hundred pages of an Opus allow for plenty of storytelling. But when we were planning the King Khan Opus, it was a case of how can we possibly fit everything in."
The Opus will be semi-autobiographical as Khan will contribute much of the exclusive content himself, including fascinating extracts from his personal diary that he has kept for over 20 years.
Structured around 13 themed chapters, the editorial content will include a detailed filmography plus a light-hearted cinematic intermission in which people can gain an insight into his on and off screen persona and the colour and flavour of Bollywood.
Each marquee edition of the Opus will be personally signed Khan and presented as a strictly limited edition worldwide.
"King Khan - The Official Opus of Shah Rukh Khan" will also be offered as a DVD as well as a downloadable iTunes App designed for the iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch, and Android platforms.
Read More... Shah Rukh's 800-page biography to weigh 37 kgs!

Tuesday, 6 December 2011

Shahrukh, Farhan finish shooting for 'Mujhko Pehchaan Lo'

Filmmaker Farhan Akhtar has just finished shooting a music video for the song 'Mujhko Pehchaan Lo' for Don 2 with Superstar Shahrukh Khan in Mumbai. This will be the first of a kind music video where instead of a choreographed song and dance treatment, they have opted to visualise the song as an action sequence. The song is being choreographed by Vaibhavi Merchant.

Shahrukh KhanSpeaking about the music video for the song Farhan Akhtar said, "Its going to be a first of its kind music video which makes it really exciting to do. Instead of a song and dance treatment, we've opted to visualise the song as an action sequence.. to see Don vanquish his opponents while casually singing the words is surreal but very intriguing."

Commenting on this kind of choreography, Vaibhavi Merchant added, "Lip syncing, doing action, performing and all that jazz without a dance and yet a song is an unique experience for me. Hope this sets a trend because its first of its kind and this is only possible with SRK in a Farhan Akhtar film."
Read More... Shahrukh, Farhan finish shooting for 'Mujhko Pehchaan Lo'

Shahrukh Khan, Leonardo DiCaprio in a Hollywood flick

Shahrukh and Leonardo
Bollywood superstar Shahrukh Khan and Hollywood heartthrob Leonardo Di Caprio are likely to come together on screen for Paul Schrader's Hollywood film titled Xtreme City.
Xtreme City will be based on Mumbai's underworld and will be produced by Martin Scorsese. Shahrukh Khan apparently will play the role of an underworld don whereas Leonardo Di Caprio will essay the role of an FBI agent. As per sources, Shahrukh Khan will not only play a very pivotal role in the film, but he is also likely to be involved in the making and production aspect of the film. 

Leonardo Di Caprio reportedly showed a lot of interest in the script of the film. Xtreme City is most likely to be filmed in Mumbai.

The buzz doing the rounds is that Xtreme City is based on the life of underworld don Dawood Ibrahim Kaskar and his people.
Read More... Shahrukh Khan, Leonardo DiCaprio in a Hollywood flick

When Shahrukh Khan's wife got scared of his real stunt

Gauri Khan scared to see Shahrukh Khan’s jump!

He tests his own unflagging spirit and in spite of his back pain and serious injuries in the past, Shahrukh Khan performed a breathtaking stunt that had his wife Gauri Khan scared. 

It happened at the shoot of Don 2 in Berlin, Germany. Farhan Akhtar asked Shahrukh to shoot for a sequence which required the star to jump off from a height of 300 feet from the top of the Park Inn Hotel in Berlin. When Shahrukh Khan heard this he couldn’t say yes immediately! Indeed, he was nervous. 

As a source is quoted as saying about the incident, “When Farhan asked Shahrukh to jump, his first impulse was to say no. Then Shahrukh asked Farhan to take the plunge first, hoping that Farhan would chicken out. To Shahrukh's surprise, Farhan jumped, leaving Shahrukh with no choice but to do the same.” 

A shiver ran down Shahrukh’s spine after seeing Farhan performing the stunt. Who can forget Farhan even ran with the bulls in his film Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara. So as King Khan had promised, he did the scene, and his fans would also agree that he is a braveheart and a complete professional. 

But this certainly didn’t go down well with Gauri Khan; she was stunned to know about the stunt, and same was the case with Farhan Akhtar’s hairstylist wife Adhuna Akhtar. It was learnt that both the wives frowned upon their husbands’ daring acts. 

Shahrukh even confirmed the news; yes he was scared as the shot needed him to be horizontally parallel to the ground.
Read More... When Shahrukh Khan's wife got scared of his real stunt

Sunday, 4 December 2011

Bollywood pays tribute to Dev Anand

Legendary Bollywood actor-filmmaker Dev Anand died of a heart attack in London. He was 88.

Dev Anand touched and influenced the lives of many, especially in the film industry. The stars took to Twitter and paid their tributes to the legend.

Listen to Dev Anand's songs here

Madhuri Dixit tweeted: 'Sad to hear about Dev Anand's demise. Another icon leaves the stage. My condolences to his family. We will miss him.'

Shah Rukh Khan said the industry would be incomplete without him: 'Dev sahib's sad demise makes me feel that the film industry is incomplete & has lost its magical energy. May Allah bless his soul.' 

Abhishek Bachchan wrote: 'Shocked to read of the passing of Dev Saab. Such a great man and actor. A symbol of positivity. Never believed I would ever wake up to this news. Very sad!'

R Madhavan tweeted: 'RIP Dev Anand Saab.. You taught us that there is no retirement if u do not desire so..You will remain Evergreen.'

Emraan Hashmi was sad to hear the news: 'Sad to hear about Dev Anand's demise. A mean with a zeal for life. RIP.'

Arjun Rampal wrote: 'Woke up to the saddest news and an emptiness in the heart, Dev Saab the man who lived every moment to the fullest with greatest energy. RIP'

Akshay Kumar tweeted: 'One of the worst years so far, evergreen romantic actor/director Dev Anand Saab, the one who romanced with life is no more, but he dies young. How many of us will have that privilege? For me Life = Dev Anand! My condolences to his family members. RIP Dev Anand Saab,'

Farhan Akhtar felt saddened: 'Very saddened to hear of the passing of a cinematic legend and a thorough gentleman. RIP Dev saab.'

Hema Malini, one of Dev Anand's heroines, tweeted: 'Dev Sahab no more among us! Unbelievable, your life gave us memories too beautiful to forget.'

Neha Dhupia wrote: 'Indian cinema looses a true legend... RIP Dev Sa'ab'

Shabana Azmi tweeted: 'Dev Saheb robustly lived life on his own terms.he will be missed by millions but will live on thru his movies. I salute his spirit.'

Dia Mirza wrote: 'Rest In Peace Dev Saab... Your chivalry, charm, optimism and your great body of work will never be forgotten.'

Vivek Oberoi tweeted: 'Bollywood's evergreen superstar Dev Anand passed away in London.The legendary actor was 88.RIP DEV SAAB.You will live forever in our hearts!'

Mahesh Bhatt will remember his smile: '"Dev Anand is dead". As the new dawn breaks over Mumbai I salute the memory of this star who has left left us with the glow of his smile.'

Neil Nitin Mukesh tweeted: 'Just got the sad news that Dev Anand sahab passed away. I've always been a huge fan of his. And grown up watching his dynamic films. RIP.'

Raveena Tandon tweeted: 'Sad to hear the Grand ol Gentleman of Indian cinema is no more...Rip Dev saab.'

Also: Please post your tributes here.
Read More... Bollywood pays tribute to Dev Anand

Tuesday, 22 November 2011

Shahrukh Khan says Don-2 is original

Shah Rukh Khan is upset with writers'' who wake up at the last minute and make allegations about their works being stolen or infringed up.
When a copyright infringement issue was reportedly raised by Nariman Films the makers of the Amitabh Bachchan Don recently; SRK told newsmen in Mumbai that his Don-2 is original and has not been copied/or taken from anywhere. Said SRK, My producers Ritesh Sidhwani, Farhan Akhtar and I are wondering where such stories come from. Even when we made the original 2006 version of Don; we had done our due diligence and taken whatever permissions where there to be sought from the script point of view. While my producers are best qualified to give a fitting reply to the whole matter, I as a lead actor can say that as for the sequel, the Amitabh Bachchan Don never had a sequel. So where is the question of us copying anything. Farhan and his team have worked on the script, I know for a fact that we haven't copied from anywhere and this is an original script.'' SRK added, It is irresponsible even on the part of those reporting to say someone has infringed the copyright because there are always people who raise their heads at the nth hour with allegations. The media must also look into the merits of the entire case before reporting. After all many people have worked hard on the script. I have full respect for the media and I know that 99 per cent of the people do not fall for wrong leads; however even that one percent who tend to get swayed must try and hear out both versions of a story.'' Excel Entertainment has not infringed any copyright leave alone that of Don, starring Amitabh Bachchan by producing Don 2. Further, Excel Entertainment is the bona-fide author and owner of copyright of the Films "Don The Chase Begins Again" (i.e. Don 1), which has been confirmed by Nariman Films in writing. Excel is also the owner of the copyrights of Don 2. In 2005, Nariman Films has given rights to Excel Entertainment, in perpetuity, for making "Don The Chase Begins Again".

Don 2 is a sequel of "Don The Chase Begins Again" alongwith the ownership to the underlying work therein. The entire story and dialogue of Don 2 has been prepared by Farhan and the other team members of Excel Entertainment. The title of Don 2 has been approved by AMPTPP in favour of Excel Entertainment. Excel Entertainment states that there has been no undue influence on persons of Nariman Films. Nariman Films, with their malafide intention and to extort unjustified and unearned monies from Excel Entertainment, have given the legal notice, which is baseless and devoid of merits. Excel Entertainment is suitably replying to the legal notice sent by the Advocates of Nariman Films. Excel Entertainment shall defend themselves and shall not permit Nariman Films to hamper the release of Don-2 under any circumstances whatsoever. The fact of Excel Entertainment making Don 2 has been in the public domain since 2009. It seems that it has now become a practice to give notices just before release of a film to extract monies. We at Excel Entertainment have done nothing wrong and shall stick to the correct legal and moral principals and defend what is right.

Read More... Shahrukh Khan says Don-2 is original

Shahrukh Khan to open IFFI at Goa on Wednesday

Bollywood heartthrob Shahrukh Khan will open The 42nd International Film Festival of India in Goa on Wednesday with actress Raima Sen, actor Prem Chopra and directors Sudhir Mishra and Nikhil Advani in attendance. Portugal's World War II drama, The Consul of Bordeaux by Francisco Manso and Joao Correa, will set the Festival by the River Mandovi sailing. The story of a man who saved the lives of 30,000 people, including 10, 000 Jews, from Hitler's savagery forms the plot of this compelling movie. 
The Festival, to run till December 2, will close with another heroic saga, that of the Burmese political activist, Aung Saang Sui Kyi, in Luc Besson's The Lady, which recently premiered at the Doha Tribeca Film Festival. Both Besson and the film's lead star, Michelle Yeoh, will walk the Red Carpet on the closing night.

Between the opening and the closing, hundred-odd movies will be screened including 14 in competition. Salim Ahamed's national-award-winning Malayalam work, Adaminte Makan Abu will be one of the competing entries, with the others coming in from Iran, Japan, Australia, Poland, Germany, Spain and Iceland among others. 

Judging these will be a five-member jury headed by the renowned Indian auteur-director, Adoor Gopalakrishnan. One of the most critically acclaimed directors after Satyajit Ray, Gopalakrishnan's cinema has been celebrated the world over for its touching sensitivity and profound social concerns. Often examining the individual minutely, he lays bare his pain and pleasure to help us understand the community, invariably Kerala's, the region he belongs to and is most comfortable with. 

A pioneer of the Indian New Wave in the early 1970s, Gopalakrishnan is known for his leisurely pace, having made only 11 features and a few documentaries in close to 40 years, but these films are extraordinarily reflective and have travelled to most movie festivals across continents fetching him innumerable awards and attracting overwhelming popular appreciation.

The other jurors are: Dan Wolman (filmmaker from Israel), Lee Yong Kwan (Director of the Busan International Film Festival), Laurance Kardish (Director of MOMA, USA) and Tahmineh Milani (move director from Iran).

A Lifetime Achievement Award for French helmer Bertrand Tavernier, master classes and retrospectives of Luc Besson and Phil Noyce will be some of the Festival's other highlights.

Besides these, a panorama of the latest Indian movies in several languages will be screened.
Read More... Shahrukh Khan to open IFFI at Goa on Wednesday

Shahrukh wants to quit cigarettes!

Will Shahrukh Khan quit smoking for his daughter?
Shahrukh wants to quit cigarettes!

The Ra.One star is trying really hard to shake off his bad habit and his daughter Suhana is helping him. Will SRK keep his promise?

While promoting his magnum opus RA. One, Shahrukh Khan had vowed to do away with cigarettes after the release of the film. His superhero character G.One in the film too spoke about the ill-effects of smoking. And now the time has come for SRK to stick to his words in real life and ditch the old habit. A little birdie from Mannat, Shahrukh’s palatial house in Mumbai, informed us that the chain-smoking star has come down to six to seven cigarettes a day. Six-seven sticks per day? Now that we think is sufficient smoke to turn a healthy pair of lungs into a charcoal factory! Apparently, SRK’s daughter Suhana is helping her dad to quit smoking. Suhana, it’s learnt, is not happy when Shahrukh carries a pack of cigarettes with him and that has led King Khan to make a concrete resolution to get rid of it. Well, let us remind you Mr Khan that this is not the first time you have promised to shun smoking. You said so when your son Aryan was born. You also admitted that this is the only bad habit you have and you are taking much-needed steps to quit it on numerous occasions. Shahrukh,you made it amply clear on No Tobacco day too that you will overcome this nasty habit soon. And every time, you’ve disappointed us. They just ended up being tall claims. Now we really wonder if we will ever see you without the cancer stick in your hand. Though we understand that old habits are not easy to let go, given SRK’s high energy levels and his ability to deliver on whatever he undertakes, let’s hope that this time at least the superstar is motivated enough to let go of the cigarette once and for all.

We hope SRK quits smoking soon!

Read More... Shahrukh wants to quit cigarettes!

Saturday, 19 November 2011

Has beaten Bodyguard and 3 idiots?

Wikipedia says ra.1 has beaten bodyguard and 3 idiots but some other sites say it has not beaten, really confusing
Read More... Has beaten Bodyguard and 3 idiots?

Tuesday, 8 November 2011

'Ra.One' drops in week 2, 'Rockstar' keenly awaited

Despite no potential competition ('Loot', 'Miley Na Miley Hum') in its second week, the business of 'Ra.One' wasn't anything to rave about. All eyes on 'Rockstar' now.

There weren't any big release lined up in the week following Ra.One release. Perhaps the industry might have perceived it to have a huge impact and thereby big releases kept away by a decent two weeks. Unfortunately Ra.One hasn't done any wonders despite having no potential competition in its second week.

Loot starring Govinda, Suniel Shetty, Javed Jaffrey and Mahakshay Chakravarthy looked like a dated project with bad performances, wrong sense of humour and poor direction. Clearly the film failed to excite much even in the small centers. Chirag Paswan's debut film had as much indifferent fate as his act in the film. Even Kangana Ranaut couldn't add any spark in Miley Naa Miley Hum which had a boring plotline and directionless narrative. Expectedly both the films met with disastrous fate at the box office. We aren't even talking about the B-grader Tension Door in which some Swaraj Singh tried to launch himself as an actor.

With practically no competition in its second week, the business of Ra.One slid down to a considerable extent. The mixed response in its first week didn't encourage more footfalls in the second week. The second weekend collection is around Rs 9 crores and the total nett. collection has reached around Rs 110 crores which isn't saying much for SRK's superhero. 

Now all eyes are on Imtiaz Ali's Rockstar starring Ranbir Kapoor in the title role. The film is being hugely promoted and is being keenly looked forward to. Ranbir's chemistry with Nargis Fakhri, AR Rahman's music and Imtiaz Ali's track record makes it a promising film. Again Rockstar comes as a solo Hindi release and is expected to open big.

Top 5 Films this Week

Film: Ra.One

Position: 1

Director: Anubhav Sinha

Cast: Shah Rukh Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Arjun Rampal

Upside: Good special effects, SRK's energetic act, ravishing Kareena Kapoor, well-choreographed action sequences 

Downside: Superhero enters pretty late in plot, cardboard villain, too long, average music, screenplay could have been more eventful, humour too vulgar for a family film

Running Week: 1

Trade Comments: Despite no potential competition in its second week, the business of Ra.One slid down to a considerable extent. The mixed response in first week didn't encourage more footfalls in the second week. The second weekend collection is around Rs 9 crores and the total nett. collection has reached around Rs 110 crores which isn't saying much for SRK's superhero. 

Film: Loot

Position: 2

Director: Rajnish Raj Thakur

Cast: Govinda, Suniel Shetty, Javed Jaffrey, Mahesh Manjrekar

Upside: Decent plot

Downside: Bad direction, pathetic performances, sense of humour gone wrong

Running Week: 1

Trade Comments: Poor opening

Film: Miley Naa Miley Hum

Position: 3

Director: Tanveer Khan

Cast: Chirag Paswan, Kangana Ranaut

Upside: Practically nothing

Downside: Dismal debut by Chirag Paswan, bad acts, dull plot, boring screenplay

Running Week: 1

Trade Comments: Extremely poor opening.

Film: Damadamm

Position: 4

Director: Swapna Waghmare

Cast: Himesh Reshammiya, Sonal Sehgal, Purbi Joshi

Upside: Interesting plot

Downside: Boring execution, average acts

Running Week: 2

Box Office Verdict: Flop

Film: Tell Me O Kkhuda

Position: 5

Director: Hema Malini

Cast: Esha Deol, Vinod Khanna, Rishi Kapoor, Dharmendra

Upside: Senior actors try to be the saving grace

Downside: Boring story, uninteresting acts, Esha Deol fails to impress

Running Week: 2

Box Office Verdict: Flop
Read More... 'Ra.One' drops in week 2, 'Rockstar' keenly awaited

'Ra.One' collections drop, distributors suffer
Mumbai: While RA.One couldn't boost its collections last week, the other two Hindi releases sank without a trace
Post Diwali, RA.One had yet another long weekend, thanks to Eid yesterday. But the film saw a drop in collections that started last Monday onwards. Trade analysts peg weekend figures (in India) at about R 7 crore, and concede that it's not a hit.
The newer releases like Loot and Miley Naa Miley Hum couldn't lure the audience to watch the Govinda, Suniel Shetty and Mahakshay Chakraborty-starrer or Chirag Paswan- Kangna Ranaut romance either.

Dismissing the fate of the new films at the BO, veteran trade analyst Amod Mehra says, "People aren't interested in seeing these films. They're washouts." On the other hand, Komal Nahta, trade expert terms them: "One is worse than the other."

Interestingly, despite the negative word-of-mouth, RA.One fared better during the weekend as compared to Loot and Miley Naa Miley Hum.
"Last Monday onwards, the numbers of the SRK-starrer have been falling like a landslide. This weekend saw it collect Rs 7 odd crore, but it's not good enough to put the film into big league," pointed out Mehra.
A distributor based in Central India said that considering the numbers were low on the first Sunday, there was no hope in the second weekend for the Anubhav Sinha directed special effects extravaganza.
"In Central India, Bodyguard collected Rs 4.30 crore in nine days, while RA.One garnered only Rs 3 crore. So how will it recover the cost for the distributor?" he said, reiterating that his counterparts in different territories are losing money on this R 150 crore movie.
He maintains, "Nizam territory was sold for Rs 7.5 crore, but this distributor is losing Rs 2.5 crore. CI territory sold for Rs 3.15 crore, but it hasn't seen more than Rs 2.5 crore.
Rajasthan went for Rs 5 crore, but is losing at least Rs 1 crore, and so is CP, where the distributor spent Rs 4.75 crore. The entire east circuit (West Bengal, Assam, Orrisa, Bihar) was sold for Rs 7 crore, but the distributor is losing about Rs 2 crore."
Nahta too says that the second week has not been good for RA.One. "Though the children liked it, elders didn't," he says, pegging the India collections of RA.One (Hindi) at Rs 103 crore for the week. "Despite over Rs 120 crore in India, including the Tamil-Telugu versions, the collections are not good enough.

While Shah Rukh Khan and Eros will make money, RA.One is not a hit as some distributors lost money. Their grievances will have to be compensated," he said, pointing out that Eros will have to make adjustments with their forthcoming Rockstar (November 11) and Desi Boyz (November 25).
Read More... 'Ra.One' collections drop, distributors suffer

Sunday, 6 November 2011

'I work for neither posterity nor prosperity' : SRK

In a chat the day before his 46th birthday, Shah Rukh Khan refuses to look back, talking about the here and now - filmcraft vs collections, what keeps him going, and why jibes and sniping about him and his work are like nazarbattoos, keeping ill luck away! 

When talking about the flak KKR took in the initial IPL, you'd said that the team just needs to win for the sniping to stop - that "success has the quality that it eradicates all personal and impersonal attacks". In your case, doesn't the reverse hold true? Haan yaar, yeh kuch kamaal hi ho gaya hai mere saath... 

From a Shirish calling "Ra.One" a fizzled cracker to a Thackeray almost calling you a Pakistani loyalist, within a week - what did you do to trigger this? Both unimportant... let me say something sincerely. I hope it doesn't sound too rude. Successful people do things, and get over with it, and leave others to live their life off it. I DO them. And then I leave it to others to live their life off it. 

It is so strange - if anyone takes my name, I have the ability to make them famous. Just by taking my name. And that's God's gift. My son asked me this the other day, 6 'o' clock in the morning he called me, and asked me, Papa, people say things about you. Don't you get angry? Don't you want to beat them up? 

And I said no, your father is gifted with this. That if you want to be famous, you take your dad's name. And I said the only persons I don't want to be famous by taking my name are you and your sister. Let the rest of the world do that. And I truly mean that. I hope that comes true. I endorse so many people free (laughs)! 

But surely statements such as Thackeray's must provoke you to respond? Sometimes I don't want to dignify things with answers. And it takes a huge amount of self-restraint, patience, control, and love for your own family, to keep quiet. And dignity, and perhaps the status that I have in the eyes of the people. 

I was told by Amitji once - we were sitting backstage for a show - beta, jab stardom aati hai na, koi bhi aadmi aa kar tumko thappad mar kar chala jayega. Tum use kuch nahin keh sakte. Kyunki agar tumne kuch kaha, to tum ameer ho, gareeb pe apna dum daba rahe ho. Tumne sharab pi hui hai. Tum gundagardi kar rahe ho. Tum arrogant ho. Tum apne aap ko samjhte kya ho? He said these are the things they'll say. You have to keep quiet, put on your blinkers, keep walking. 
And that is why successful people finally become a little reclusive. It's not the reclusion of loneliness; my reclusion is the reclusion of avoiding, of ignoring, of saying, let's move on.
Hemaji told me something like this long ago, when I was new. Somebody wrote an article which said that I'd said that Hemaji was not a good director - while I'd said nothing like that, but you know how press mein aata hai... so I was very scared and I said, ma'am, I didn't say anything like that. Hemaji told me see, this means, either I am very famous, or you are very famous. And my fame has sort of reduced now, so this means you've become famous, and now this will be part of your life. 

The other night, I met her for the launch of her film, and she asked me - you remember na everything I said? And I said, yes, I remember everything. 

So, yes, success makes people - people not related to you or to your field - like to take a dig at you. Sometimes I go to social networking sites for a while and I'm like, arre! Kaafi personal ho gaya! 

Quite vicious, the online tenor can be, on a bad day. Yes, very. But then, I'm like, this is maybe a small dusty man in a small dusty room, taking out his angst, his loneliness, by taking someone's name, abusing him, and feeling happy that his achievement has been recorded. So then I feel I'm also a source of inspiration for them, even if in a strange, negative sense. God bless them.
There is no dearth of actors - stars, rather - who share your surname. But the "Nishan-e-Pakistan" sort of compliments are usually directed exclusively at you. Why's that? (Laughs) I know, I know what you mean. Maybe I'm too flamboyant. Maybe like my son, I don't answer back enough... 

But why are you a target of angst across the range - from the guy in the dusty room to irked political leaders? I think I invoke radical passions in people - and that is why I am such a big star! I'll walk out with you just now, and you'll have men, women, of all nationalities, just hugging me. I think it is the same intensity on the other side, in those who don't like my face. And I will choose to believe in the hugs more than the hatred. 

Just like Hyundai uses me, as a professional, a lot of people use me unprofessionally. I've become a free-for-all brand. I hope they come out with a rule that they can't use a person's name without paying him for it! 

And the most irritating part of it is one word - opinion. You ask someone, how could you say this about him? And the answer is - it's an opinion. You're a dog - that's an opinion. You're an actor - that's also an opinion. You're a Muslim - that's an opinion. Anything can be twisted into an opinion. That's not good. 
Ek "Trimurti" mein line thi - kabhi picture mein shoot hi nahin kari woh! - mujhe badi achhi lagti thi: "Jisko dekho mera baap banna chahta hai" (laughs). It's a strange thing. Jisko dekho mera baap banna chahta hai. Lekin theek hai. God bless them. So long as my children don't want to be my baap, it's ok! 
"RA.One's" revenues have been the subject of much national debate the past week. Yeah... right now, as we sit down and talk, it is supposed to be the highest grosser, as of five days. The business is different - number of theatres, screens, audience going in big numbers... so obviously the reactions are also larger, more volatile. 

The projectionists have also become part of the reactions - and they like to make projections telling you that agle din business itna achha nahin hoga. 

Everybody has become hugely associated with the tangibility of this business. It is unfortunate that it is so; a film should ideally be allowed to breathe, to reach people at its own pace. That was the old style. But if you release it in the new style, like we have, with 5,000 theatres, which is the American way of doing it - and the right way - because there are no longer Silver or Golden jubilees, there's only a weekend or two of business. In the future, all big films will release in 5,000 theatres. In an earlier interview, you said that films and filmmakers are part of a strange art form which is only measured by the yardstick of commerce. And that dichotomy is one you have to live with... You have to live with it, yes, you have to. Earlier, the business of films was not discussed on every platform. Now, if I'm getting off the plane from LA, people come up to me and say, 'Sir, congratulations, what big figures!' Earlier they would come and say nice film, good role - now they talk about earnings. The applause is mixed with the jingling of coins, you have to hear both together. 
It doesn't make me too happy. My heart doesn't crunch numbers. But my business partners are happy - mazaa aa gaya reactions. I'm like, ok... I think a film should be measured differently also. 

Is it the media's obsession with you vs Salman that got translated into the almost hourly comparison of "RA.One" vs "Dabangg"? I don't think it's just the media, honestly. I think there is a section of people related to the trade who also talk in these terms. A trade person or a producer, he'll tell you it did well, but it didn't quite do as well as that one, or better than that one on the second day, or whatever... 

I feel conversations are not viable anymore; it's just communication. And communication boils down to monosyllabic terms. Yes, no, ok, good, like, dislike, bye, 170 (crores). It is no longer ki kaisi lagi picture... Nobody converses. Reactions are like, wow, thumbs up, smiley. 

New genres, new stories are like a new shoe for a day or two. And I've been in the business long enough to know ki yeh joota theek ho jayega. Now it'll swerve to the opposite - these figures are unheard of, etc, etc. I would not like to participate in either of these discussions, Day 1, Day 2, week... the messages I get are like, '7 crores on a Monday! Super duper!' The first four days are just about communication, then it comes to conversation about a film. Appreciating a film is like opening a wine... good wine needs a little breathing before you drink it. 
On the point of commerce vs art: Wouldn't you be remembered for a role like "Chak De" even if that wouldn't be a movie that made a fraction of the money that "RA.One" is making? No, I don't think so, I don't think that's a case in point. I work for now. I don't work for two things - I don't work for posterity, and I don't work for prosperity. Some people work for prosperity. I've worked for that. But now I am prosperous, I am ok. And I don't work for posterity. Yaar main yeh kya nishaan chhod ke jaa raha hoon? Because posterity is not created by you; it's created by talk, by cinema, by life itself. If you're working for either of the two, you're on a shaky wicket. I work for NOW. I want to be untouched by this whole tangibility factor. 
I was speaking to Lady Gaga, I had this long interview with her, and she said some very nice things. I really appreciated it because when I say those things, I sound as if I am philosophizing too much. But she was saying the same thing. If finally someone were to give her a choice between giving up her money, her stardom, all that she's earned, or give up singing, she'd choose not to give up singing. If someone were to give me the choice between giving up all my cars and my money and giving up acting, I'd say, yaar, acting karte rahenge, will let those go. 
Maybe if you are as successful as I am today, you have that choice. Maybe that's not a choice one has in the first two years of one's career. But this is my reality today. I don't work for the prosperity; yes, it happens along the way, Mashallah, it's very good for the business. And I don't think about posterity. I will not think about posterity because I still haven't ended; I think my posterity will be when I sit down and start watching my own films, which I still don't do. 

Never? Never, yaar. I can't watch my own films. I've kept that for old age - ki baith ke dekhoonga, kiya kyaa. 

What is old age? Old age, for me? The way I'm going, about 140. That's what my friends say. I'm 46 now - so about a hundred to go! 

Your dad was 50-something when he passed away. You've talked about thinking more of mortality, and of him, when you approach 50. Yes, then I did. But now I don't... because I am the healthiest I ever was right now. And I am also more relaxed. In a happier space as a person. To me it's no longer about wanting to have my finger in every aspect of life, like I used to be maybe 15 years ago. 

But ya, it is strange to think that my son today is as old as I was when my father died. I do get reminded of that, ya. Not necessarily about mortality... but it's good to be reminded of that, too. Like Steve Jobs said, if you know finally you're going to die, there seems to be no risk in anything you do in life. He said this when he had cancer. I think our fear of mortality stops us from living life to the fullest. I am living my dreams - how many people get a chance to do that? 
Lady Gaga tweeted a picture with you and said 'screw Hollywood!' That must have made you happy! Yeah! Actually all the reviews of my movie in Hollywood are like that. You should read the reviews in LA Times, New York Times... a journalist said to me, 'It's like we've been saying this for 8-10 years, suddenly, seeing "RA.One", we're telling Hollywood, dude, even technically they're here now - and the cost is one-hundredth of your films.' I think it's a sign of the times, whether it's Akon or Lady Gaga, they all want to come to India. In reverse, it took an Oscar for us to recognize the genius of a Resul. 

As to Lady Gaga, she's a sweet lady, really, really upfront, honest. I spent three hours chatting with her. It was fantastic. Simple, down-to-earth middle-class girl... 'Simple' and 'middle-class' are not the first words that come to mind when you speak of Lady Gaga... An image. An image that's bordering on the bizarre. And it's just an image. Amazingly intellectual. A philosopher. She is very clear. As a person, she is so deep, she knows the philosophy of the world, she ad verbatim knows the philosophers... It was a great learning experience - and I say that about very few people, more so those who are 25 years old. 
She said a great thing to me. She said, an artiste's personal life should not be discussed beyond a point, because it somehow blunts the art of the artiste. People start taking the art less seriously than the personality. She says my personality is me, my art is what you see - and they are two distinct, two clear thoughts. Seeing her on stage, you expect her to be this really wild, vivacious girl - she's actually a calm, normal person who says her most interesting pastime is cooking food for her father whenever she's in New York. Middle-class girl. She's very clear - I just want to sing. 
It was a fantastic learning experience for me, and it was also stuff that I completely believe in. Whatever I am out here is for the people - I'll dance for you, I'll do a "Chammak Challo", I'll wear a tight suit and fly if that makes you happy. But in my personal life, I'm a deeper person. So when you say silly things about me... I have to disassociate and say, these guys don't even know me personally. So the comment is unfounded. This guy doesn't even know me. I was flipping through an article and somebody had written, 'This is the most expensive mid-life crisis of a person'. Why are you talking about my mid-life crisis? What do you know about my crisis? Or where I am? Talk about the film - that's what you're paid for. Review the film. Don't review my personal life. I don't sell my personal life to you. Talk about the actor, don't talk about the person. 

When you make a personal remark about me, without knowing me, I have to take it like that - it's your own issues in life maybe, you're just putting it upon me because iske paas yeh sab kyun hai, hamare paas kyun nahin. I guess it's just that, finally. 

Are you still an outsider in the system after all these years? Well, if you look at it, I'm an outsider, which my son won't be, so maybe he'll have it easier... but it's not that. I'm told that I may be coming across as rude. I'm not really very social. 

Maybe it's because I don't bend. Maybe because even in the face of bad things, I'm smiling. It irks people sometimes. They're like, saala, akele yeh sab kaise kar leta hai? I do that because I sleep less, I work harder. Everyone finds a different reason for my success except the fact that I act. 'Yeh marketing guru hai yaar'. 'You know what, saale ki luck chal rahi hai'.
Luck chal rahi hai, for 20 years? Haan, saala, bees saal se luck hi chal rahi hai! It's 'Arre wohi kare ja raha hai, love stories karta rehta hai'. 'Gaane nikal jaate hain iske; gaane achhe mil jaate hain saale ko'. 'You know what, Muslim audience bahut pyaar karti hai isko.' 'Overseas! Overseas ki wajah se itna chalta hai.' 

They find strange reasons for my success. But the real reason is - early to bed, early to rise, work my a** off, and advertize. It's as simple as that. 

I am my one man walking talking team. I can handle 5-6 things at a time. I can handle a cricket team, I can handle production, I can set up a VFX studio, I can make the most expensive film in the country. I can still come and launch a kabaddi tournament in Bhatinda and deliver a speech at Adasia which everybody loved and still go back home and celebrate my birthday with my kids. 

And I can play video games with them. And I'm not tired. And I'm everywhere. 
But your being everywhere was a point of much talk in the run-up to "RA.One" - he's on every show, everywhere... And why not? An actor once told me - I won't name him - 'I don't like dancing at weddings'. I said, and how often have you been invited to dance at weddings? The answer: 'I'll never do it'. I said, pehle chance toh mile! If I'm invited, if I'm put on people's shoulders, if I'm asked to be on, from "KBC", to whatever programme - if I'm called, I like to do it, I'm ok. This is what I'm here for. I like doing that. You do that if you're called. Just because you're not invited, don't run down my party. I'm invited to every party. And I like to attend all of them. And I enjoy myself. 

Life is beautiful. I am beautiful. And the few things around me that are not beautiful - I like to think of them as nazarbattoos - tils. Woh kehte hain na, tere chehre pe yeh jo kaala sa til hai, lagta hai daulat-e-husn pe darbaan bitha rakha hai. So yeh jo negative baatein karte hain mere baare me, yeh mere daulat-e-husn ke darbaan hain, mujhe nazar lagne se bachate hain. 

You looked tired, run-down sometimes while being everywhere... I got tired. I fell sick, actually. I got a bronchitis attack but I couldn't stop, film ke premieres they. Then I was on antibiotics.
Superstars don't rest, do they? I sleep an average of 30-35 hours a week. Today I slept just an hour, but on the flight from LA, I slept for 16 hours straight. I guess it comes out to an average of 5 hours. I don't sleep very early anyway. I like that time at night. That's the only time I get to be with myself. No cars, no clothes, no films, nothing, just my thoughts. That's important. People think insomnia hai, but it's not that. I like that time - 2, 3am. You hear crickets, it's quiet. I like that time of the night. 

For 20 years, when so much is asked of you, and you want to give it with happiness and love, you deserve that time by yourself. I just sit quietly, I do nothing. I'll write, or surf channels, or read a really silly book. That time, I feel, gets me ready for the next day, more than the sleep. 

Read More... 'I work for neither posterity nor prosperity' : SRK

Monday, 31 October 2011

SRK's RA.One earns Rs 170 crore at BO

Shah Rukh Khan's technolgical masterpiece RA.One, one of the most expensive films made in India, has recovered its costs by earning Rs 170 crore worldwide in the opening weekend. The superstar is congratulating his business partners on the superhero's box office success.

Eros International Media Ltd (Eros International) released the collection report stating that the film has got a record breaking opening - the highly anticipated Diwali collected of Rs 137.25 crore (net collection Rs 96 crore) in India and Rs 32.75 crore overseas. 

Apart from this, Shah Rukh Khan had reportedly sold the satellite rights for Rs 37 crore, the music rights for Rs 8 crore and ancillary rights for Rs 10 crore even before the film had hit the screens.

"As always, my heart doesn't crunch numbers and heroes don't count zeros...but it's nice to know how RA.One is flying," he further tweeted.

"Ga Ga ooh la la...Ra Ra Ra.One. Thrilled with response. Congratulations to my business partners." 

Made at a budget of Rs 150 crore, the film, described as best in terms of technology, opened across more than 4,000 plus screens worldwide - 3,100 plus screens in India and 904 prints internationally, including 3D and has become the biggest Hindi grosser in southern market too.

"RA.One released to packed houses across the country on Diwali day and has already created history by taking over the mantle of the biggest domestic earner so far. The film continues to be on its record breaking spree with several new achievements since its release. It has touched the highest individual collection in circuits such as Mumbai, Delhi, Punjab and Rajasthan," Nandu Ahuja, senior vice president, distribution, Eros International Media Ltd said in a statement.

"We see repeat viewings of the movie with the 3-D version being equally sought after. With the Eid holiday also coming up next week and no other major film release, we are anticipating the film to continue doing huge numbers," he added. 

Speaking on the film's overseas performance, Pranab Kapadia, president, distribution,  Eros International, said: "The film is enjoying a superb run across all major regions including UK, North America, Europe, Australia and the Middle East. Overseas, the film has broken SRK's own previous first weekend record established by My Name Is Khan and occupies the position of biggest Indian first weekend grosser overseas as well."

Eros plans to take the film to non-traditional markets - RA.One is scheduled for theatrical release in the first quarter of 2012 across several territories including South Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Russia , Lebanon, Jordan, Syria and Palestine, Brazil, Spain, Italy and Greece .

Directed by Anubhav Sinha, RA.One saw King Khan as G.One along with Arjun Rampal as RA.One and Kareena Kapoor. 

Though the critics didn't give it a thumbs up, the film's visual effects and state of the art production techniques have set a new standard in the Indian film industry
Read More... SRK's RA.One earns Rs 170 crore at BO